About Us

Set up in 2000, the Asia-Europe Museum Network or (ASEMUS in short) is a cross-cultural network of museums from Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) countries:

Australia Austria Bangladesh Belgium Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Cambodia China

Croatia Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Estonia Finland France Germany Greece

Hungary India Indonesia Ireland Italy Japan Kazakhstan Korea Lao PDR

Latvia Lithuania Luxembourg Malaysia Malta Mongolia Myanmar Netherlands

New Zealand Norway Pakistan  Philippines Poland Portugal Romania Russian Federation

Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Spain Sweden Switzerland Thailand United Kingdom Viet Nam

Our objectives are:

  • To promote mutual understanding between the peoples of Asia and Europe through collaborative museum-based cultural activity
  • To stimulate and facilitate the sharing and use of museum collections

ASEMUS is led by the ASEMUS Executive Committee and supported by the ASEMUS Secretariat. The Chairman of ASEF Board of Governors is the Patron of ASEMUS.

We aim for ASEMUS to be a lean and transparent network administratively. We encourage all ASEMUS members to explore collaborative projects with each other.

The ASEMUS Guidelines, adopted by the Executive Committee, are availble here.

Our Values

  • We respect, cherish and celebrate cultural diversity
  • We abide by the international ethical codes of practice in the museum profession
  • We promote professional excellence
  • We value service to the public
  • We promote free exchange and easy access to information.

The Asia-Europe Meeting (ASEM) is an informal process of dialogue and co-operation with the objective of strengthening relationship between Asia and Europe. The 53 ASEM members are: Australia, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, the Lao PDR, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mongolia, Myanmar, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, the United Kingdom, Viet Nam, the European Union and the ASEAN Secretariat.

The views expressed herein are in no way taken to reflect the official opinion or position of ASEF, ASEF’s partner organisations, or its sponsors.

This website has been produced with financial assistance of the European Union. The contents of this website are the sole responsibility of ASEF and can under no circumstances be regarded as reflecting the position of the European Union.

Be informed of the Latest Projects, News and Events